top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHG

Aesthetics and Aliens. SEMESTER TWO.

Updated: Apr 2, 2019




Over the past few weeks I have made it my mission to indulge in as many 50's Sci-Fi films as humanly possible. I remember watching the 1953 film The War of The Worlds as a child. but never did I remember the aliens looking quite this ridiculous. (Link 1) As I intend to create a satirical film, I'm researching the best means of representing the alien characters and have been doing experiments with different lights - if I can achieve this successfully, it would mean avoiding casting further actors for these roles.


I think in representing the Aliens in an ambivalent and non-generic way, their dialogue regarding the perceptions of others could offer a more resonant value. Essentially, I think the lack of form with these characters will enhance the messages within the dialogue, rather than present a barrier for these messages to be relayed. In addition to this, I think it may add another layer to the social commentary surrounding judgements of people and things we do not know. I also plan to incorporate elements of satire surrounding racism, sexism etc, and I think if I present these beings as 'formless' that could open up other thought provoking layers within the narrative. I've attached a link to my test with lights (Link 2) - these are not in any chronological order, they are test shots - let me know which ones work best!


Additionally, it will give me the opportunity to add another layer of experimental value to the film, which I think could work well in contrast to the other 'Hollywood' moments I plan to incorporate. In this introduction, I've used voice over to narrate a monologue which has been inspired by the introductory text from Star Wars. I have drafted my first script where I have written an introductory monologue in this style of vernacular. I will attach my experiment using only voice-over (with distortion effects) and a background, which I may use as part of my trailer. (Link 3)


Due to Star Wars' status as arguably the most famous sci-fi film of the century and has its very own unique and definitive introductory style with the rolling text, I plan to do a second version of this - potentially without voice over and just text moving in the iconic style we all recognise. I'm not sure if this will be too close to be an effective means of satire, but the experiment will determine that.



Do you think I should stick to using lights and other obscure, out-of-focus funky objects and voice over, or go more 1953 with my Aliens?




Link 1 (WOTW)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UdHNGP8XkmY


Link 2 (Lights Test):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xBudUNSpHW8


Link 3 (Voice Over):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v2-if939lF8&feature=youtu.be

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A wee montage! SEMESTER TWO.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cxCqaROOgWE Recutting my haptic footage and added some stock photo elements to enhance the horror-parody vibe, let me know if it works/what you think :)

TRAILER. SEMESTER TWO.

- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2mgMZ6RIw4M (LINK TO GREAT MISUNDERSTANDINGS TRAILER) Useful Links for anyone who might need them: https://www.musicbed.com/ - Royalty free music/sound clip samples.

bottom of page