top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHG

Editing.

Updated: Jan 28, 2019

In this exercise we were asked to select a clip and re-edit the piece to give an alternative mood to what is actually presented in the film. We chose Lord Of The Rings as we felt the shots were dynamic and dramatic, and we see possibilities within the editing that could present an alternative mood within a very much established work which has a popular story line universally. This is another piece of group work I felt was an asset to my own project proposal research as we managed to reposition the piece within a comedic framework rather than the dramatic, ominous setting that was presented within the film. I think this represents the power of editing and representation, as we can take the same scenario and create an entirely different reception of it if we alter the positioning of it.

Additionally, this is another exercise which exemplified the effectiveness of editing when seeking to create comedic elements and resonance with the audience and this is something I am very interested in incorporating this in my final film. We made various versions of this, one including a comedic crash zoom, before finally deciding on this one as we felt it was more effective with the comedic use of sound amplification. I am very interested in not only recreating iconic scenes from pop culture taken from film, but also creating a parallel within the camera and editing techniques so that the parallels have dual layers to them within the final piece. Again, this piece incorporates pre-established clips and so therefore I feel it would further benefit me to create my own scenario and edit on this to improve my scripting, directing and then ultimately - editing.



Link to video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t4-86VWAmoE&feature=youtu.be&fbclid=IwAR24rZEsglJI1afNZFG88dANLyOG62tGmtzOrulC_-n0xBAqO2n3CCj0wU8

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A wee montage! SEMESTER TWO.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cxCqaROOgWE Recutting my haptic footage and added some stock photo elements to enhance the horror-parody vibe, let me know if it works/what you think :)

TRAILER. SEMESTER TWO.

- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2mgMZ6RIw4M (LINK TO GREAT MISUNDERSTANDINGS TRAILER) Useful Links for anyone who might need them: https://www.musicbed.com/ - Royalty free music/sound clip samples.

bottom of page